As much as legalized cannabis has blossomed over the last decade, the various laws from state to state still leave many people confused. In Maryland, for example, medical use is legal, while recreational use is only decriminalized. This means if you’re a patient, you’ll need a medical cannabis card to legally make purchases. Of course, they don’t just go around handing these cards out to anyone who asks. Obtaining one comes with its own rules and regulations, which only further complicates the issue. Fortunately, we’ve compiled this handy guide to show you everything you need to know about obtaining and using your medical cannabis card. Once the legal obligations are out of the way, you should have access to the cannabis supplements you need to maintain your health and wellness.
How To Become A Medical Cannabis Patient
Before you can apply for a medical cannabis card, you must first register with the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission. This process can be completed entirely online, but it must be done in one sitting and it also requires you to upload pertinent documents. After the state acknowledges your application, you’ll be assigned a patient number.
The next step is to see a certifying physician with all your supporting medical documents. According to state laws, you need to have a certified healthcare provider who can acknowledge this form of treatment is necessary. You must also have a qualifying medical condition such as HIV/Aids, cancer, cachexia, anorexia, wasting syndrome, chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures, persistent muscle spasms, glaucoma, PTSD, or any other severe condition which hasn’t improved using other means.
As soon as your healthcare provider activates your patient identification number, you’ll officially be a valid medical cannabis patient in the state of Maryland.
Appointing & Using Caregivers
Becoming a patient gives you the right to appoint caregivers to acquire medical cannabis for you. This can be especially convenient for patients who have trouble traveling or otherwise leaving their home. Patients who are under the age of 18 must also have a caregiver, as they will be unable to purchase medical cannabis on their own. Caregivers don’t have to be patients themselves, however, they do have their own set of regulations to consider.
With your medical cannabis card approved, you can now identify one to two people to be a caregiver. Your caregiver will have the ability to purchase cannabis on your behalf and deliver it to you personally. There are several requirements that caregivers must meet. They must be at least 21 years old, get approved by the MMCC, and pay a $50 fee to obtain a caregiver’s ID card. For patients under the age of 18, their caregiver must also be a legal parent or guardian. The registration process for caregivers can also be completed online and also requires a range of digitized documents including a clear, photocopy of a valid ID. Be sure to have everything you need before starting the application process, as it must be completed in one session.
Laws & Regulations For Using Medical Cannabis Cards
After you’ve worked out the process of acquiring your card, there are still some rules worth bearing in mind. The laws in Maryland differ in many aspects from those of other states, and there are certain factors that could lead to legal trouble. For example, while some states permit patients or caregivers to grow their own cannabis plants, only certified growers are allowed to do so in the state of Maryland. It’s also important to note that must only obtain cannabis from state-certified dispensaries, as purchasing it from other sources is still considered a crime. As a patient, you’re entitled to possess no more than 120 grams within a 30 day period, and no more than 36 grams of extract within the same time frame. Certain extensions can be made with the approval of the MMCC if a physician deems it necessary.
Beyond state regulations, there are also some factors that are ultimately decided by the dispensaries themselves. Financial aid for medical cannabis is allowed, but there are no legal guidelines in place. Some dispensaries may have their own options available, while others simply may not. Similarly, most health insurance plans don’t have provisions for medical cannabis, though some private insurance plans may. Ultimately, assistance in these matters is in the hands of the private sector.
Using Your Card Out Of State
Like financial aid, acquiring medical cannabis out of state is not covered under Maryland’s own laws. Some states that have legalized medical cannabis will accept cards from other states, but this varies between one state to another. Michigan and Rhode Island, for example, have stricter restrictions on medicinal uses, meaning some dispensaries may or may not accept out of state cards. Other states including Hawaii may charge a fee for out of state patients, while others like Arizona may not allow out of state patients to visit dispensaries at all. If you are going to be traveling, it’s a good idea to check the specific laws of the state you’re visiting. Also, be advised that carrying cannabis across state lines is not a good idea due to national law, and could result in severe penalties even with a medical cannabis card.
Help For All Your Medical Cannabis Needs
At Euphoria Wellness, our mission is to assist patients in obtaining the medicine they need as safely and effectively as possible. We offer a range of products including flowers, cartridges, concentrates, edibles, topicals, and more. We also offer free delivery and pick up services to our patients, ensuring they have access in a way that’s convenient for them. Our mission is to provide quality products in a clean, safe environment. Our highly trained staff is here to assist you and answer any questions you may have, ensuring you get the best experience to suit your individual needs. We believe that acquiring medical cannabis should be a safe, comfortable, and easy experience.
Visit us here to learn more and obtain your medical cannabis from a warm and welcoming place that’s here to help you find relief!